How sharing data with partnered job boards can attract more qualified candidates
Employers who share disposition data with job boards are more likely to receive higher-quality applicants than employers who do not. Sharing data helps to improve matching accuracy between applicants' skills and employers' requirements, connecting job seekers with opportunities and employers more closely aligned with their skills. This increases the chances of expanded job visibility, shorter recruiting cycles with more targeted applicants, and time saved reviewing and interviewing unsuitable candidates.
Data sharing with job boards is enabled by default, but if you don't want to share your data, follow the steps below to disable it.
Note: Opting in or out of data sharing with partnered job boards only applies to organic applicants, not sponsored applicants or API integrations. You cannot opt out of sharing data for sponsored applicants or when using third-party API integrations (e.g., Indeed Apply, Indeed Sponsorship).
What kind of data is shared with job boards?
CareerPlug ensures the protection of personal data by not sharing any Personal Identifiable Information (PII) with job boards. Only disposition data is shared:
For applicants
| Disposition signal | Signal quality | What it means |
| Reviewed | High | The applicant has been reviewed. |
| Deactivated | High | The applicant has been deactivated, or disqualified, and has been notified via email. |
| Rated | High | The applicant has been rated. |
| Contacted | Higher | The applicant has been contacted, no matter their employment outcome. |
| Interviewing | Higher | The applicant has an interview scheduled. |
| Offer Sent | Higher | An offer has been sent to an applicant. |
| Verification | Highest | A background check has been initialized for an applicant |
| Hired | Highest | An applicant has been marked as hired. |
For jobs
| Disposition signal |
Signal quality | What it means |
| Draft | None | Drafts do not get sent to job boards. |
| Active | Highest | The job is active on job boards and job seekers can find it. |
| Inactive | Low | An inactive job post shows job boards you are not engaged with the hiring process |
| Passive | None | Passive jobs do not get sent to job boards, they are only on your careers page. |
This data alone cannot identify an applicant. Data is only shared with the job board from which an applicant applied and not through any other source. This allows job boards to associate the information back to the applicant to accurately represent their journey through the hiring process without compromising privacy.
How does sharing data attract more qualified candidates?
Job boards use disposition data to track applicants' progress through an applicant tracking system (ATS) as the hiring process unfolds. They analyze this data to improve the targeting of job advertisements to job seekers and increase the quality of job seekers who are shown a job based on their search criteria.
As the hiring landscape changes, job boards are looking to protect the applicant experience. Because of this, the data sent to job boards is more important than ever. By being a quality employer, reaching out to all applicants, and moving them through the hiring process, you show job boards that you respect applicants' time. This can lead to better organic job visibility, which can mean higher applicant flow.
How do I disable data sharing with job boards in my CareerPlug account?
1. Navigate to Settings > My Organization > Company Profile.
%20Pointed%20to%20company%20profile.png?width=670&height=261&name=Settings%2c%20My%20Org%2c%20Company%20Profile%20(Nav%20bar%20minimized)%20Pointed%20to%20company%20profile.png)
2. Scroll to the bottom of the page and uncheck the Share my data with partnered job boards checkbox.
3. Click the Save button.
%20(Bottom)%20Pointed%20to%20save.png?width=670&height=225&name=Settings%2c%20My%20Organization%2c%20Company%20Profile%20(Nav%20bar%20minimized)%20(Bottom)%20Pointed%20to%20save.png)