How sharing disposition data with partnered job boards can attract more qualified candidates
Sharing disposition data helps partnered job boards refine their matching technology to create better connections between applicants' skills and employers' requirements. This is why employers who share disposition status signals (a.k.a. disposition data) with job boards are more likely to receive higher-quality applicants than those who do not.
Sharing disposition data with job boards is enabled by default. If you don't want to share your disposition data, follow the steps below to disable it.
What are disposition status signals?
Disposition status signals are the notifications sent to job boards whenever you (or another hiring manager) make changes to an applicant's status, such as reviewing, interviewing, rejecting, or hiring an applicant. Job boards use disposition status signals to track job seekers' progress through applicant tracking systems (ATS) like CareerPlug.
By advancing applicants to a new step in your hiring process — or rejecting them — you're sending a quality hiring signal and communicating to job boards how well a particular candidate fits the role they applied for based on how far they made it.
How does sharing disposition status signals attract more qualified candidates?
As the hiring landscape shifts, job boards are looking to protect the applicant experience. Because of this, the data sent to job boards is more important than ever.
Job boards analyze employers' disposition data to improve the targeting of jobs to job seekers and increase the quality of candidates shown a job based on their search criteria. Over time, this feedback loop helps ensure job boards surface your open positions to job seekers with the right skills.
By being a responsive employer and moving all applicants through your entire hiring process, you show job boards that you respect applicants' time. This can improve organic job visibility, increase applicant flow, shorten recruiting cycles, and save time evaluating unsuitable candidates.
What kind of disposition status signals are shared with job boards?
CareerPlug only shares disposition status signals (plus a job board's application ID) for candidates who applied for one of your jobs via a job board, and only with the job board where they applied.
Note: CareerPlug ensures the protection of personal data by not sharing any Personal Identifiable Information (PII) with job boards. Disposition status signals do not include applicant names or contact information.
CareerPlug shares the following disposition status signals. However, not every job board accepts every signal.
For applicants
| Signal | What It Means |
| "Applied" | A job seeker has submitted an application for one of your jobs via a job board. |
|
"Screening" |
An applicant has answered a job's prescreen questions. Alternatively, you, one of your employees, or a CareerPlug automation (like Fast Track) has invited the applicant to a One-Way Audio Interview. |
| "Passed Screening" | An applicant's answers to prescreen questions have automatically advanced them forward in your hiring process (via Fast Track). Alternatively, you or one of your employees has advanced the applicant past the One-Way Audio Interview hiring step. |
| "Reviewed" | You, one of your employees, or a CareerPlug automation (like Autopilot) has taken action an applicant for the first time — such as leaving a comment, sending an email or text message, or advancing them to another hiring step. |
| "Deactivated" | You, one of your employees, or a CareerPlug automation has deactivated or disqualified an applicant.* |
| "Assessment" | You, one of your employees, or a CareerPlug automation (like Fast Track) has advanced an applicant to a hiring step that includes an assessment. |
| "Rated" | You or one of your employees has rated an applicant as a "Good Fit." |
| "Contacted" | You or one of your employees has sent an interview invitation to an applicant, scheduled an interview with them as part of a hiring step; this excludes Autopilot and texts/emails sent outside of a hiring step. Alternatively, a CareerPlug automation (like Fast Track) has sent an invitation to an applicant to complete an assessment or One-Way Audio Interview as part of a hiring step. |
| "Interviewing" | You, one of your employees, or a CareerPlug automation (like Autopilot) has advanced an applicant to either the Phone Screen or Interview hiring step (regardless of whether you actually sent an interview invitation or scheduled an interview). |
| "Offer Sent" | You or one of your employees has sent an offer letter to an applicant. |
| "Offer Declined" | An applicant has declined an offer that you or one of your employees sent. |
| "Background Check" |
You or one of your employees has advanced an applicant to the Background hiring step or requested a background check for an applicant. |
|
"Hired" |
You or one of your employees has marked an applicant as hired. |
| "Eligibility Verified" | E-Verify has sent confirmation that a new hire is authorized to work.** |
| "Onboarding" | You or one of your employees has begun onboarding for a new hire.*** |
| "Job Closed" | You or one of your employees has closed the job a candidate applied for while they were still in the hiring process (i.e., they were not deactivated or disqualified). |
*Disposition status signals are only sent when an applicant is automatically disqualified if a rejection email is sent or scheduled. Otherwise, Indeed will only receive a "Deactivated" signal if you manually send a rejection letter.
**This only applies to CareerPlug accounts that use E-Verify.
***This only applies to CareerPlug accounts that use onboarding features.
For jobs
| Signal |
What It Means |
| "Draft" | The job has a "Draft" status in CareerPlug and has not been sent to job boards. |
| "Active" | The job has an "Active" status in CareerPlug and has been sent to job boards (where job seekers can find it). |
| "Inactive" | The job has a "Closed" status in CareerPlug and has stopped being sent to job boards. |
| "Passive" | The job has a "Passive" status in CareerPlug and is not visible to job seekers on job boards (since passive jobs only appear on your careers page). |
How do I disable sharing disposition data in my CareerPlug account?
1. Navigate to Company settings (gear icon) > My organization > Company Profile.
%20Pointed%20to%20company%20profile.png?width=670&height=261&name=Settings%2c%20My%20Org%2c%20Company%20Profile%20(Nav%20bar%20minimized)%20Pointed%20to%20company%20profile.png)
2. Scroll to the bottom of the page and uncheck the Share my data with partnered job boards checkbox.
3. Click the Save button.
%20(Bottom)%20Pointed%20to%20save-1.png?width=670&height=178&name=Settings%2c%20My%20Organization%2c%20Company%20Profile%20(Nav%20bar%20minimized)%20(Bottom)%20Pointed%20to%20save-1.png)
Note: Turning off data sharing means you'll no longer send disposition status signals to job boards for any applicants, including sponsored applicants. This does not affect whether your jobs are sent to job boards. Disposition status signals are never sent for candidates who apply to your jobs via your careers page or a custom source.